Special Announcement

Blue Ribbon Seal





U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today recognized the 2013 cohort of National Blue Ribbon Schools, based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in improving student academic achievement. Secretary Duncan made this year’s announcement live via the Department’s USTREAM channel, viewed by recognized principals, teachers, and students assembled across the country.  The Department will honor 236 public and only 50 private schools at a recognition ceremony on Nov. 18-19 in Washington, D.C. In its 31-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed this coveted award on nearly 7,500 of America’s schools.

It is with great pride that I announce that Holy Cross Catholic School has been selected as one of the 50 private schools honored, nationwide, this year.  This is the first time in the history of Holy Cross that we have been awarded this great honor.  I thank the faculty and staff for their dedication to the students of Holy Cross Catholic School.  Furthermore, I thank our parent community for entrusting your children to Holy Cross.

“Excellence in education matters and we should honor the schools that are leading the way to prepare students for success in college and careers,” said Secretary Duncan. “National Blue Ribbon schools represent examples of educational excellence, and their work reflects the belief that every child in America deserves a world-class education.”

The National Blue Ribbon Schools award honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students perform at very high levels or where significant improvements are being made in students’ levels of achievement.

The program recognizes schools in one of two performance categories. The first category is “Exemplary High Performing,” in which schools are recognized among their state’s highest performing schools, as measured by state assessments or nationally-normed tests. The second category is “Exemplary Improving.” Holy Cross was named an Exemplary High Performing School.

To select National Blue Ribbon Schools, the Department requested nominations from the top education official in every state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and the Bureau of Indian Education. The Council for American Private Education (CAPE) nominates private schools. A total of 420 schools nationwide may be nominated, with allocations determined by the numbers of K-12 students and schools in each jurisdiction. The Secretary of Education invites nominated schools to submit an application for possible recognition as a National Blue Ribbon School.

Congratulations Holy Cross on this well-deserved honor!  Please join us at 10:00 am for a special assembly.

Yours in Christ,

Lisa Maio Kane, M. Ed.


This entry was posted in HCS. Bookmark the permalink.